Nerdlution Round 2: More lution, Less not doing it

nerdlution button tiny

The first official nerdlution has come to an end!

How did you do?

Some of you rocked it in truly inspiring ways.

Some of you –> me <– had an enthusiastic start and an eh last half.

(If you missed it, here’s my original Nerdlution FAQ).

Whether you nerdlutioned for 1 day or all 50, Colby’s post today says it best:

“At times I felt like a bit of a failure. I wasn’t able to write all 50 days, but I did write more during the 50 days of Nerdlution then I have ever written in a 50 day stretch. Not bad.”

I think that’s just the point: We ALL failed.

Well, that’s not the whole point.

The bigger point within that failing in little and big ways is what was at the center of this of this funny little movement: find something you would enjoy doing, aim to do it more than before, and live within the realness of your trying to get there.

Round Two

Today, in two different posts, Colby Sharp and Michelle Haseltine invite all of us to jump into round 2. Another 50 days of nerdy+resolutions, starting tomorrow.

Colby invites you to post your new nerdlution(s) at his blog.

Michelle offers to host a Thursday nerdlution blog post  round-up, she’ll collect anyone’s posts from each week, just leave a comment on her blog with the link.  

Others of you are already posting your new #nerdlutions. Franki, one of the fellow founders, has moved on from apples to lipstick. …you’ll have to ask her.  Katherine writes about setting new goals and also shares her need to be kinder to herself for any “failures,” I love this point and it inspired my round 2 nerdlution.

But first, what we learned from Round One

Okay, I just want to preface this by saying that I swear to you at times in my life I can be fit. I’ve flipped tires, people. Tires. In a gym. Doing push-ups on them even. That ‘s got to count for something.

That little burst of defensiveness came in and out of my self-talk during this first 50 day experiment. You see, I also was reminded during round one that I’m not as fit as I imagined I was.  Though, happily was more than I feared. 50/50 ain’t bad. For example, trying to do 100 push-ups every single day is incredibly painful and the exact opposite advice any trainer would ever give you. (Truth: I planned that goal in my “I’m just going to eat cake a lot” workout phase.)

I learned I need to have a more realistic goal. I also learned, though, that it still should be somewhat rigorous – just beyond my fears of what I think I can’t do.  Because a good 50% of the time, I actually met it and was so amazed, and sore, and proud, and sore at the end.

Reading other people’s triumphs and failures across these 50 days I’ve learned other things:

  • Success can breed success.
  • Equally true, failure can breed failure.
  • If you are stuck on a desert island and only amazing, technological wizardry can help you (or song lyrics), then Kevin Hodgson is your answer
  • It’s easy to feel embarrassed when you don’t live up to a public goal.
  • It’s easy to assume you’re the only one.
  • Apples everyday is actually a thing. And it becomes more interesting the more Franki writes about it.

  • Everyone fails.
  • Everyone succeeds.
  • Telling your true experience – the ups and downs – to others, ultimately helps you.
  • It helps everyone else, too.

My Round 2

I’m still sticking with mostly one nerdlution for this round, but modifying:

  • 100 push-ups per day, 3 days per week
  • Another high intensity something, 3 days per week. Time doesn’t matter (key for me not feeling like a failure on “off” days, anything is better than nothing and some days I’ll be inspired to do more than others) – a few planks or a short run or long gym time
  • A day off

Mentally (this is new for me to set a part of a goal, thanks Katherine for the inspiration) I want to:

  • Know I will, without a doubt, “fail” at some point. There, no surprises now.
  • Be forgiving to myself when I do.
  • Restart slow if I have to.
  • Ask for support – because the best part of nerdlution is the amazing and positive community.

See you at Colby’s blog, Michelle’s, twitter, or just out there with a smile on your face.

Hive fives all around!

Billy Mills, 1964 Olympics, public domain

 

11 thoughts on “Nerdlution Round 2: More lution, Less not doing it

  1. Chris thanks for reminding us that goals should be reflected upon and adjusted! And writing them and/or declaring them definitely helps keep me focused. I have to remind myself not to obsess and fret if it feels as if I am falling behind-and give myself permission to (gulp) fail.I hesitate to publicly declare goals unless I absolutely, positively commit, and sometimes it takes awhile to arrive at that point. So far this year I am committed to running 14 races in 2014 http://jillconyers.com/2013/11/are-you-ready-to-run-14-in-2014/. I am still in the thinking about my goals stage for #nerdlution. Thanks for getting me to think about it a bit more!

  2. Chris, As always…your post is thoughtful & clear! I enjoy reading your reflection. As for Nerdlution: The Sequel (as I’m calling it) thank you for including me in your post! I’m so excited you shared my blog idea. I can’t wait to have people link their blog posts on Thursdays! We can comment and help each other!! Happy Nerdluting!

  3. I did not do Round one of Nerdlution. #1 because I was totally confused about what is was. (This post has cleared up my confusion.) and #2 The holidays tend to stress me out, so I was limiting commitments. But now it is winter and grey and cold and actually a little boring, so why not join in. Can I? Even if I didn’t do Round 1? I don’t have much time to think about this. It starts tomorrow, really? Like on Monday, Jan. 27th?

Discuss!