Guest Hosting #Engchat Tonight! Let’s talk Family Involvement

I am looking forward to guest-hosting tonight’s #engchat! It is at 7pm EST.  Simply follow the hashtag “#engchat” and include it within your tweets in order to participate.

I am excited to facilitate the conversation not only because I love this community that my friend and fellow The Educator Collaborative member, Meenoo Rami, founded, but because we will be chatting about a topic that is critical to the growth of our students and our schools.

Tonight’s chat is titled:

Family Involvement: Go Beyond Lip Service & Build a Strong School Community

I have become so interested in this topic for two reasons:

One, my own children are in school.

When my daughter began Pre-K over three years ago, I suddenly saw schooling in a whole new light.  It has led me to reflect a lot on what I did (and did not do) for parents and families while I was in the classroom.

The other reason I am so drawn to this topic is that I have been serving as Special Advisor to the National Center for Families Learning.

They believe that one of the most powerful ways to support a child’s education and development is by supporting the education and development of the entire family.  Yes!

And they have been doing so, and serving as a hub for other organizations large and small, in amazing ways.  I have to say, I fell in love with their work instantly and give a lot of time and energy to their work freely.

So, tonight I invite you to join us as we think about ways that we as English or literacy teachers support family involvement.  Though, you do not only need to teach English or reading and writing to join, everyone is welcome!

Here are draft questions for tonight’s chat: click this link.  Please do take a look and feel free to comment, revise, or add additional suggestions.

 

New to Tweet Chats?  No problem!

If you are new to twitter chats, or have only been a “lurker” (twitter-ease for people who watch chats but don’t tweet responses), you are welcome to this and every #engchat.

There are many guides online for how to engage in a twitter chat, here is one I wrote: “So you think you want to Tweet Chat: From Lurker to Chatter 101”.  And know that everyone in this community is happy to have you and will help you out!

So You Think You Want to Tweet Chat

 

I hope to see you in the twitterverse tonight!

 

Thank for all you do!

Chris

Discuss!

